How much do you really want that new book/video game/fill-in-the-blank?

In a press release distributed today, Amazon.com announced the launch of “Local Express Delivery,” a new shipping option giving customers same-day delivery in seven major cities including New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Baltimore, Las Vegas, Seattle and Washington D.C., extending to Chicago, Indianapolis and Phoenix in the coming months.

I get the fact that Amazon is trying to address a major point of friction in the shopping funnel, but I just don’t see myself paying an extra $10 to have something delivered the same day – especially when I have to place that order by 10 AM. Introducing Amazon Prime memberships was a very good business decision because it resulted in a significantly increased order volume among members. (side note: I’d love to know how profitable Prime members are to Amazon)

I’m not sure this is going to produce the same results. But if the offering doesn’t require significantly augmenting Amazon’s distribution network then it really doesn’t cost them anything to test out the idea. But other retailers should keep an eye on how the service performs.

You never know. One may wake up one day and feel the need to have some new shoes or a new handbag waiting for them when they get home.

One response to “How much do you really want that new book/video game/fill-in-the-blank?

  1. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a comment